Sistah Talk

In Sisters Spin Talk on HipHop, I definitely enjoyed the style of writing and how they were talking back and forth. This was one of the more interesting topics we’ve read about. I also agree with whats being said by Tara. To me HipHop music is degrading to women, and most of it has no real meaning. Rap tends to be a tragedy story about someones messed up life, or about how girls need to “get down” or “bump and grind”.
Now women rappers are rising and becoming more respected. They are changing the HipHop scene into something more relatable to regular women.

I loved the Nicki Minaj article just because i never really understood or knew what she was about. I just thought of her as some crazy female rapper with colorful hair. Knowing her back story changes a lot of my perspectives on her. In a way she becomes more real. I also like how she doesn’t have a type, and doesn’t associate herself with being one sexual orientation, she just does what she does. Shes a “bad bitch”. She is definitely big in the music scene right now and will continue to inspire women to empower themselves. Something great about Nicki Minaj is that she just doesn’t really care. She’s the first to ever take such a huge risk with appearance and how she presents herself. That is definitely what makes her stand out.

Leave a comment